Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie saying hi and asking questions.

Search this Thread

Old 17 April 2013, 07:36 PM
Maty j
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie saying hi and asking questions.

Hi all,
I've been lurking awhile now so thought best introduce myself. I'm Matty. Currently drive a modded R26 Megane.

Love the care but think It's time for something new and I fancy 4wd. I've looked at ... errrmm .... the other 4wd saloon option but really fancying a scoob. Sooo, a few questions,

I'm looking at the later 2.0 models - 05-06 which is version 8? Correct me if i'm wrong at all as I'm still learning. It seems the widetrack is the one to go for - why is this? I like the idea of the DCCD, being able to play about with it even if it'll spend most of the time on one setting. Can I switch most of the power to the rear If I fanncy some fun?

The PPP - what does this give besides more power? My megane is 300bhp and pretty nippy so I have been looking at PPP cars although I guess I could add a few mods on a normal STI to get abit more power.

Lastly (for now anyway ) is there any common faults or things to take a good look at when inspecting any potential purchases? What are the major servicing costs and when are they due? I've noticed some cars advertised state the cambelt has been done yet others don't.

Thanks all,
Matty.
Old 17 April 2013, 08:52 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Stick with the Megane: better handling, same power to weight ratio, better fuel consumption, less drivetrain losses, more toys and not a chav-mobile.
Old 17 April 2013, 10:53 PM
Maty j
Scooby Newbie

Fuel consumption - I'm not so sure. I'm only seeing a little over 20 day to day driving and around 30 on a run. 35 on a run at a push but that is leaving it in 6th and doing 65! When spanking it on track I can see single figures and usually get through £120+ fuel a day and drive home with the petrol light on.