Sponsored by:

Sportwagon Query

Search this Thread

Old 02 February 2008, 12:43 AM
mona
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportwagon Query

Hi everyone - I'm a newbie on the forum btw!

General question I am thinking of buying an Impreza, as I want a reliable motor for work, that doesn't look crap and doesn't bore me to tears.

I am currently driving (well, not until the engine gets fixed ) a Fiat Coupe 20v Turbo - and I know there's a lot of banter in between the two forums with what's the fastest etc OK - and I KNOW people are going to say the Scooby here of course! so I'm not after the Turbo version - tempted as I am at times with the Fiat's fragile nature!

I'm interested in an older 2.0 Sportwagon as an interesting alternative to my current workhorse - a 1994 Audi 80 TDi Avant - with 208k on the clock, and a 2nd gearbox playing up! I am thinking of cutting my losses with that one, and buying a replacement car - the Scoob wagon being my current No1 choice.

Is there anything I need to look for in these models? What's desirable? What's dodgy? Are parts easy to get cheap (my guess no!)? What's the insurance and economy like? Do they drive well? Anything to avoid? What kind of mileage can they do? Are they reliable? Can they be modded easily/cheaply?

Any advice or guidance greatly received. Cheers everyone - hopefully I will be a Scoob driver soon then! (I've always liked the earlier one's, and this estate variant seems ideal, as well as looking good)
Old 02 February 2008, 12:58 AM
sportwagonred
Scooby Regular