Re-map?

Search this Thread

Old 18 April 2008, 10:48 AM
scooby Iain
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re-map?

Hi guys,

Can anyone tell me if i need to have my 95 WRX import re-mapped? or even how i can tell if its already been done or could i just get hold of an ecu from a UK motor and swap them over?????as im soooo confused about the issue

Mod's so far are full decat 3" stainless system and a K&N induction kit.

Sorry if they sound like a load of dumb *** questions but im still new to impreza's and imports etc
Old 18 April 2008, 11:07 AM
BURTON
Scooby Regular

I dont think you can re-map it with out changing the ecu. I would make sure you run in on v power or somthing simular due to it being designed for higher octaine fuels . i use v-power an octaine booster and it runs alot better
Old 18 April 2008, 11:10 AM
Shmerman
Scooby Regular

No you cant just swap the ecu's over. Its needs to be remapped tho. The imports dont tent to run well on our inferior fuel as standard. Now you have decatted it, it will make the problem a lot worse. Get it mapped before you do any damage.

The ecu cannot be remapped, but it can have a daughter board fitted which can be remapped.

Andrew Carr does this. He lives in preston. There maybe someone more local to you?
Old 18 April 2008, 11:14 AM
scooby Iain
Scooby Regular

right i will be looking into that then, cheers guys
Old 18 April 2008, 11:26 AM
myblackwrx
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As for running it on UK fuel it will be fine (gotta be SUL though).
I run my 93 wrx (with decat) on UK fuel and it's fine BUT to get the most out of the decat get it remapped (www.jollygreenmonster.co.uk supplies and maps various ecus).
Old 18 April 2008, 12:31 PM
NUTTYNICK
Scooby Regular

To confirm, you will need to gain access to your ecu, not difficult really, and check what model it is. Mine is the same MY as yours and had the Z4 ecu which 'supposedly' is much better mapped for UK SUL fuel.