Newbie help please!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08 June 2009, 04:37 PM
gra2730
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie help please!!!!!

Hello guy's.

I have just dipped my toe in to my first impeza turbo ownership, took it in p/x, it is a 1995 wrx sportwagon, few problem's already!!! The is water leaking from the right hand side where you fill the plastic expansion tank, I can't see a crack & it doesn't leak all the time, when it doe's it's quite a heavy drip, the metal tank is alway's full though? When I come to a stop sometime's it has white smoke coming from the bonnet scoop, is this intercooler, it doe's not happen all the time? Plus it doesn't really read the tempature, I can't get the fan's to kick in even leaving it idling after a run it barely crawl's of the bottom, guessing thermostat? I am not a mechanic so bear with me in replying to you, I love the car but am worrying myself that I have bought a seriously duff one!!!

Hope this forum is as good as some of the other's have joined, thank's in advance!!!

Cheer's!!!
Old 08 June 2009, 05:05 PM
wrx fifer
Scooby Regular

ok from what i make out is your radiator got plastic ends either side? as these have a tendancy to expand/leak under load so im assuming thats your water/coolant leak and also it may be your thermostat but the fans on my radiator dont kick in when idling either only when really hot this is not great but im running a mix match of newgae and classic lol but my temp gauge is fine if mine wasint working right i would not be happy as its pretty important eh especially when your losing water!
Old 08 June 2009, 05:44 PM
LWells
Scooby Regular

I had something similar on my classic, new rad and thermostat solved mine.. I think i got my radiator from Ebay, everything was ok after that, if it was like mine you will prob find that the smoke is steam when the leaking water hits the hot engine.
Old 08 June 2009, 09:17 PM
wrx fifer
Scooby Regular