Notices

engine warning light

Search this Thread

Old 01 February 2008, 09:14 AM
jameswood
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine warning light

Hello, I am new to scoobynet. I picked up my new impreza two days ago, it is a wrx sti ppp and has done 56000 miles. On the way to work this morning i changed down gear from 5th to 4th to overtake, accelerated and as i did there was a sudden dip in power which lasted less than half a second, and then the engine warning light came on. The car is driving normally now and if it was not for the warning light, i would be none the wiser if there was a problem. Does anyone have any ideas what the issue could be? Any contributions welcome!
Old 01 February 2008, 09:26 AM
SetoN
Scooby Regular

see my post, ive got the same problem.

https://www.scoobynet.com/general-te...ml#post7615948

SetoN
Old 01 February 2008, 01:17 PM
jameswood
Scooby Newbie

cheers for the link. I have had the car two days so it is still under the waranty from the garage. Will see what happens when i approach them tomorrow.
Old 01 February 2008, 01:31 PM
Midlife......
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The garage will plug in their select monitor and look for the error code stored on the ECU, they can also look at historic codes...

My guess would be a camshaft position sensor error which are quite common on the earlier newages, particularly if you have bounced off the rev limiter.

Might also be a spurious neutral position switch error.

This isn't a terminal error and the ECU doesn't go into limp home mode and it might dissapear after a number of engine starts (5).

HTH

Shaun
Old 01 February 2008, 05:40 PM
jameswood
Scooby Newbie

thanks Shaun, the warning has now disappeared after about 5 engine restarts. Is this likely to keep on occuring or is it a very intermittant problem?
Old 01 February 2008, 11:14 PM
Midlife......
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

James