Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

SCSI ???

Search this Thread

Old 21 January 2003, 09:42 PM
Dave P
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Went round to a mates the other day to help him out with his PC. I'm no real expert but I can find my way round. He bought this PC of someone he did some work for. The guy has left quite a lot of bits on it and I just need some pointers. Questions follow:

1. What is SCSI (I have a very vague idea)?

2. Explorer shows 4 hard drives. 1 SCSI and the other 3 I guess are one physical drive. I guess the only way to tell is to get the box open y/n?

3. What benefit if any does the SCSI drive give.

4. I was going to install some CD burning software, but the CD Rom drives wouldn't read my discs. Any idea why this may be? They work fine on mine. I had suggested rebuilding the machine, but if I can't read discs there seems little point.

Any help appreciated.

Dave

Old 21 January 2003, 09:51 PM
super_si
Scooby Regular

Herep

Hope it helps

Si
Old 21 January 2003, 10:14 PM
Miles
Scooby Regular

1. What is SCSI (I have a very vague idea)?
It's a means of connecting different types of drive together that has been around in various forms for about 15 years.
"SCSI (pronounced SKUH-zee and sometimes colloquially known as "scuzzy"), the Small Computer System Interface, is a set of ANSI standard electronic interfaces that allow personal computers to communicate with peripheral hardware such as disk drives, tape drives, CD-ROM drives, printers, and scanners faster and more flexibly than previous interfaces. Developed at Apple Computer and still used in the Macintosh, the present set of SCSIs are parallel interfaces. SCSI ports continue to be built into many personal computers today and are supported by all major operating systems. " From SearchStorage.com.