Sponsored by:

newbie asking for help

Search this Thread

Old 06 December 2007, 08:15 PM
Sc(n)ooby
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie asking for help

Hi guys, my name's paul and I'm new to this Subaru scene.
Basically, I'm on the lookout for a Type R Sti (the 2 door one, version 3??).
I'm not gonna bother insuring it till I'm 25 (next July), so that gives me plenty of time to source the right one, and if I get one early, time to mod it a little

So, is there a quick guide of things to look for in an Impreza?
I have scanned the site, and can't seem to find anything like this.
Also, a few newbie Qs:
What's all this MY98 etc about?
How much are basic things like services, mpg, parts etc?
And, I heard a rumour of being able to swap a 2.5 block in place of a 2.0.
How much truth is there in this?

Many thanks,
Paul.

Oh, and my budget is about £9-11k, what can I expect for this?
Old 06 December 2007, 08:32 PM
andythejock01wrx
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Sc(n)ooby

I'm not gonna bother insuring it till I'm 25 (next July),

So, is there a quick guide of things to look for in an Impreza?

Many thanks,
Paul.

I'm guessing you mean you don't intend insuring it in your own name till you're 25 ?

You'll find info on all the classic scoobs on the SIDC website.
Old 06 December 2007, 08:36 PM
Mo_Patrick
Scooby Regular

Couple of your questions answered.

MY98 (manufacturers year 1998)

Yes you can swap a 2.5 litre block in place of the standard 2.0 but obviously costs a fair bit of money...
Old 06 December 2007, 08:42 PM
Sc(n)ooby
Scooby Newbie

Well, yes that's true, but I don't intend on insuring it at all till I'm 25.

So if I can find one before then, I'll trailer it away, store it in my garage, mod it if it needs/I want it, then bring her out for the big day in July.

If I don't find the one by then, then I'll just keep looking.