ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Any Contractor's here?

Search this Thread

Old 06 June 2000, 08:44 PM
Fat_Biffer
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I noticed there were quite a few IT people posting here, any contractors?

How are you all coping with running your scoobs now IR35 is here.

Apart from the huge chunk of income that we've all lost, we're not able to run company cars anymore on the 5% Ltd company expense allowance.

I was going to go for a nice new Impreza on a lease, but the government has f**ked that one up for me.:0
Old 06 June 2000, 09:59 PM
GCollier
Scooby Regular

Biffer,

I'm an IT contractor, working in London. I have some interesting documentation I can forward to you if you email me offline, re bypassing IR35. I have several contractor friends who have no intention of changing the way they work. I've been working for the same client for 3 years though now, and will probably await a new contract and the legal dust to settle before deciding what to do. At the moment, I've upped my salary to a reasonable level, and am tucking substantially more away in a pension, so the net tax hit for me is zero, and I may be able to retire a few years earlier

With regard to running a scoob through the company - I've always been led to believe that you were better off running cars in this price bracket privately, unless you do a lot of business miles?

Gary.
Old 06 June 2000, 10:09 PM
Blow Dog
Scooby Regular

said this before and i'll say it again,

whoever voted labour should be shot.

Old 06 June 2000, 10:42 PM
igratton
Scooby Regular

Cool

Gary...

check your mail

Ian
Old 07 June 2000, 08:11 AM
phill chinn
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up