Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Purchased a WRX today

Search this Thread

Old 30 March 2003, 07:29 PM
CupraT
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
After much deliberation I have bought a WRX with PPP (and side skirts colour coded).

I test drove both the WRX and the STi (2 drives of each) but chose the WRX as for me I felt it was the better car.

Financially both cars were an option but the WRX edged it due to

1) Ride was a little less harsh - though for some I would guess this is the appeal of the STi. If it was a second car then maybe I would gone for it.
2) I am a driver of 'average' ability and the STi is perhaps too quick for me. Its not the first quick car I have had, but it is much quicker than any car I have had.
3) I hated the scoop with a passion - it would not have stopped me getting the car if I had been happy with 1&2 above.
4) The insurance is quite a bit less for the WRX - not a major consideration but it is a plus point for the WRX.
5) I felt I could leave the car and it would not attract as much attention as the ST1.

None of the above is in anyway detrimental to the STi - both cars are superb and much better than I expected.

Hopefully get the car next Saturday.
Old 30 March 2003, 09:51 PM
r5obbo
Scooby Regular

very good evaluation, but i have not driven the sti,and to be honest don't want to. you are not first to say this. but i can add to this and say i was very imprezed about the ride comfort, it's so good you juyst bounce in the seats compared to the other sports cars iv'e owned.
Old 30 March 2003, 10:01 PM
kpm2
Scooby Regular

Well done CupraT, sounds like you did exactly the same as me. I've also had the WRX side skirts sprayed and had the PPP fitted.
What colour did you go for? The only regret is getting the WRX mats included in the deal - they look a bit cheap, I'll be getting some Delux mats next pay day. Sounds like you also got your's at RN Golden. They seem to be one of the best dealers for doing good deals.