ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Is this correct?

Search this Thread

Old 08 January 2003, 04:57 PM
Scooby Singh
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi

I was talking to an evo owner at the weekend, and he suggested that I change my dump valve and remove the catalytic converter for better performance, (i think thats what he said, im a scoobie newbie and im not too hot on the lingo yet). Ive got a MY02 and havent had it for long so obviously im a bit unsure. This will probably effect the emissions so the catalytic converter will have to be put back on when going in for a service. Is this sound advice???
Old 08 January 2003, 05:04 PM
DaveR
Scooby Regular

I'm not 100 % sure on the dump valve - I'm sure someone else on here will know. However as regards the catalytic converter, yes, removing this will deffo improve performance (and low-down torque as well I understand), due to allowing the turbo to breathe easier.

The new WRXs have three catalytic converters in the exhaust, one in the backbox, 1 in the centre section and the third in either the up- or down-pipe (not sure which). I was told at TSL that you can remove both the back and centre cats, and still pass MOT emissions tests. However you could experience a problem if you remove the downpipe/uppipe cat (removing this one also provides the greatest increase in performance).

Hope this helps (I'm clearly not an expert )

DaveR
Old 08 January 2003, 05:07 PM
image doctor
Scooby Regular

Dump valves are gay, don't do it.
Old 08 January 2003, 05:09 PM
scooby-si
Scooby Regular

Location: 2005 sso, 1/4 finals,3rd in 60ft; 2004 sso,semi finals,2nd in 60ft time; 2003 standard car 2nd 60ft
changing dump valve will not make ne differance to bhp

but do a full de-cat m8
Old 08 January 2003, 05:18 PM
Michael Robinson
Scooby Regular