ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Poor bugger in an Exige on M40 this morning

Search this Thread

Old 06 September 2001, 10:15 AM
harj
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

This morning around 8am the traffic slowed around Stokenchurch Hill towards London, I noticed 20 mins later that a Range Rover and a Y Reg Light Blue Exige were on the hard shoulder.

Poor blokes Exige had been shunted from behind and completely crumpled the rear end! such a nice car too. Looks as though the person in the Range Rover didn't even see the Exige as it certainly wasn't a slow speed impact (exige small low down car / Range Rover high tall Jeep)

No-one seemed to be hurt which was good.

Old 06 September 2001, 10:22 AM
SCOSaltire
Scooby Regular

ouch!
the exiges brakes are good... wonder if that was an influence.

lovely car... i agree
Old 06 September 2001, 10:33 AM
HamsterWheel
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

As an Elise driver, I can confirm that it's sometimes bloody frightening being too closely followed by a big nasty car on the motorway. As I could outbrake most of them in an emergency, the thought of 2 tons of pig-iron rear-ending me is a bit off-putting.
Had a cretin in a white Merc van following me at about 10 feet in rain on Sunday night on the M40 and had to keep slowing down and then putting some distance between us. Fianlly got rid of him on the Stokenchurch hill (Bledlow Ridge) by dropping to 50 and then speeding up to a little bit more up the hill :-)
Old 06 September 2001, 10:34 AM
HamsterWheel
Scooby Regular

Thumbs down

As an Elise driver, I can confirm that it's sometimes bloody frightening being too closely followed by a big nasty car on the motorway. As I could outbrake most of them in an emergency, the thought of 2 tons of pig-iron rear-ending me is a bit off-putting.