VTS question...

Search this Thread

Old 03 August 2005, 10:01 AM
dogboy1
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation VTS question...

Hello,

Thought id ask the great welath of knowledge on here rather than the saxo sports forum...

My digi read out in the car keeps telling me that theres no oil in the car however the dipstick shows thats its filled to the max level.

Perhaps a sensor is playing up somewhere ...does anyone have any helpfull info about this.

Thnaks all,

DOg.
Old 03 August 2005, 11:13 AM
Cupramax
Scooby Regular

I have zero Saxo knowledge but you need a new oil level sensor by the sounds of it...
Old 03 August 2005, 09:28 PM
Jap2Scrap
Scooby Regular

Does the gauge flit around when you're pushing on a bit? You'll probably find it's the electronics at the display end rather than the sensor end because it has no effect on the ecu at all.

I know. I have a VTS and the oil level/temp gauge is erratic at best, often flying off the top of the display and right out of sight but I've had everything checked and the problem is at the dash end.
Old 04 August 2005, 11:38 AM
dogboy1
Scooby Regular

Wink

Originally Posted by Jap2Scrap
Does the gauge flit around when you're pushing on a bit? You'll probably find it's the electronics at the display end rather than the sensor end because it has no effect on the ecu at all.

I know. I have a VTS and the oil level/temp gauge is erratic at best, often flying off the top of the display and right out of sight but I've had everything checked and the problem is at the dash end.
Thanks for that Jap 2 scrap... it was just a bit un-nerving seeing the guage show no oil at all, but the old trusty dip stick shows its ok. Seeing as the warranty is ue to run out soon is there anything else that commonly goes wrong that i should look out for? edited to add....ive still got to say thats its one of the best car ive ever driven, with superb handling so i'd hate to part with it really.

Cheers,

Dog.