Search this Thread

Old 11 May 2009, 02:37 PM
Henrik
Scooby Regular
Support Scoobynet!

Received 145 Likes on 109 Posts
Default Career change - am i mad?

Situation:

I've been working for more than 10 years in IT (Unix admin + programmer) and I'm bored out of my brains at work, don't like the company, hate the commute (35 miles one way in traffic), don't have anything interesting to do (and it looks as if there wont be anything interesting to do for a while either). I do, however, make a "respectable" amount of money.

Now, every Sunday afternoon (and sometimes mornings too) is darkened by the fact that I know I have to drag my **** to work on Monday morning, and it's not doing my mental health any favours, to say the least.

I'm not sure if I'm just getting bored of IT generally, or if it is something else (I'm 30 this year, so possibly prone to a bit of mid life crisis).

I really, really, really want to do something different, but would I be crazy giving up my job to pursue a more "rewarding" career (whatever that turns out to be)?

Who else has changed careers and a) regretted it, or b) thought it was the best decision of their life?
Old 11 May 2009, 02:52 PM
FlightMan
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

To answer your question.

Yes I changed career at 37, and while it wasn't the best decison of my life, I'm glad I got out of IT.
Old 11 May 2009, 02:53 PM
New_scooby_04

Henrik. In the current climate, you have to be realistic. If you have a steady job and decent income the question is: "Can I afford to put this in jeopardy, given my lifestyle?"

I would suggest that until you at least have an idea of what you might do instead, the answer is probably "no". Once you've given this some thought, you can go about thinking how you might optimise your chances of securing a job in whatever sector gets your attention.