Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Anyone who works in Electronics

Search this Thread

Old 13 February 2004, 03:18 PM
suprabeast
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Anyone who works in Electronics

Was thinking of possibly setting up my own business doing electronics manufacture.

All of this talk of sideline incomes etc. has got me thinking and I have realised that you'll never get rich working for yourself.

Just wondered from those who work in the electronics industry, how many of you send out your electronics pcbs to be manufactured (soldered) off site, and how many have in house equipment??

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks

P.s. i am an expert solderer so i'm already qualified to do this, but i just dont earn enough doing it for my current company
Old 13 February 2004, 03:26 PM
Vette_76
Scooby Regular

Location: On Mars...in a cave....with my eyes shut....and my fingers in my ears!!
Talking

Expert solderer my ****!!
Old 13 February 2004, 03:32 PM
Graz
Scooby Regular

Off site - you need special (read very expensive) machines to place and solder BGAs

Last edited by Graz; 13 February 2004 at 03:32 PM.
Old 13 February 2004, 03:34 PM
suprabeast
Scooby Regular

yeah you are right there, bgas are a tough one because of the fact there is never 100% accuracy and you also need a reflow oven or hot air machine.

What about pcbs without ball grid arrays??
Old 13 February 2004, 04:04 PM
Goochie
Scooby Regular

I think there is a revolution in PCB manufacture on it's way Imagine the tracks being laid down on alomst any surface, not just smooth ones, one off's being really cheap and the posibility of variable height tracks

For now that is all I can tell you.
Old 13 February 2004, 08:43 PM
mart360
Scooby Regular

from what i can remember

either a wave flow solder machine or a hot air oven / conveyor system..

we used one where i worked,, it took 8 people running shifts to make the thing pay.!!!!!!!!!!!!!

M