Notices

Confused??? Help needed!

Search this Thread

Old 04 February 2011, 07:17 AM
Ash_WRXSTi
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Confused??? Help needed!

Im new to scooby ownership and have myself a 98 STi V4. Ive had it a about 2 weeks and its been absolutely fine, I have also recently fitted myself a Blitz DTTDC Turbo timer (All seems to be ok with this though as it was just plug and play).

However driving into work this morning i went to give it a little bit and when the car got over about 4.5k it cut power and started violently shaking back and forth? Not cut power as in switched off, but cut engine power?

I tried it again in a different gear and it accelerates fine again up to about the middle of the rev range and then again a sudden cut of power and the car shakes back and forth?? Its then really slow to respond again on the throttle, building up the revs, comes on boost and then bang, the same happens again?

It cant be anything too serious as it was fine until yesterday. But I have no idea how these boxer engines work so ive no idea where to start! ANY help would be much appreciated.
Old 04 February 2011, 07:34 AM
scubbay
Scooby Regular

Has your speedo stopped working?
Old 04 February 2011, 07:42 AM
Ash_WRXSTi
Scooby Newbie

No the speedo still works fine, everything works as it should. No CEL or anything, just this hesitation above 4k. Its like it is in limp mode or something.

Tried a few searches on here too, could anyone post up the link to performing your own self doagnostics please? I cant find it.

Could be MAF sensor? Boost Control Solenoid? Dump Valve sticking?
Old 04 February 2011, 07:56 AM
Loco
Scooby Regular

Does it do it all the time, or only at full throttle? mine is doing this at the moment, but only when throttle is fully depressed. if i use about half throttle, it runs all the way up through the rev range.