Notices

Info required for new turbo owner

Search this Thread

Old 04 September 2007, 08:06 PM
LongJonnyGspot
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Info required for new turbo owner

Just bought my first impreza turbo. It's a Uk car MY99. This may sound a stupid question but would like to know what fuel to run this on. At the moment the car is totally standard but wanted to know if I can run on normal unleaded or am I best off using Shell Vpower or equivelent? Only thinking of fuel costs!
Also I am looking to get an exhaust system from cat downpipe back. I want it to remain MOT friendly so do I need to buy a centre pipe with cat or can I get away with a straight through. Am I right in believing there is a cat in downpipe as well as the centre section? Can anyone recommend a system to go for?
Sorry for sounding thick but I'm new to this! Much appreciate some advice. Thanks.
Old 04 September 2007, 08:09 PM
myblackwrx
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Uk car should be happy on 95 ron but you'll find you may get a little more using super unleaded (97ron and above)
Old 04 September 2007, 08:16 PM
LongJonnyGspot
Scooby Regular

Thanks for quick reply, any info on exhausts?
Old 04 September 2007, 08:41 PM
knobby_2000
Scooby Regular

Probably not much help but I was a little concerned about the grade of fuel to use when I brought my Uk Impreza, I was told that it would run on the standard 95ron ok with no problems but it would suffer from a slight drop in performance..due to its lower burn?? (No info on how much but I dont think it would be drastic)....So I decided that I would run it on Tesco99 after resetting the ECU which is a fair trade off in price compared to leading petrol garages plus its got that little extra ummmph compared to the 97ron V/Plus/Super/Ultimate etc sold IMO....I was sold on the Tesco99 stuff so stuck with it after reading a review on Pistonheads website:

PistonHeads Headlines