Notices

what ecu is this

Search this Thread

Old 09 June 2004, 10:39 PM
zakesm
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what ecu is this

i bought my MY99 impreza turbo from a guy who claims its been chipped. i thought i would have a look under the passenger footwell and the ecu has certainly been messed with but can anyone tell me what ECU/piggy back/remap this is?

Old 09 June 2004, 10:47 PM
Graz
Scooby Regular

From the outside it looks like a standard AE802, as fitted to MY00, apart from the writing on the ECU. Can't see anything wired onto the PCB, such as a piggy back chip, but I'm no expert.

It may have been remapped with ECUTEK. If this is the case it's not chipped as such, the maps are reprogrammed using the ECUTEK software.

Have you got a boost gauge and if so is it boosting to 1.1 bar. At standard ECU will boost to 0.9 bar.
Old 09 June 2004, 11:37 PM
zakesm
Scooby Regular

anybody else know? there is no JECS/UNISIA branding in the ecu board? is it completely changed?
Old 09 June 2004, 11:50 PM
albob
Scooby Regular

Received 53 Likes on 41 Posts

my PPP has no jecs/unsia on the board - just on the can. the board version of mine is
A19-001 DS2[N]. Yours looks like a standard AE802 (with 'differences'!)

alan
Old 09 June 2004, 11:58 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by zakesm
anybody else know?
Lol, what do you expect us to say? That looks exactly like an AE802 is supposed to.

there is no JECS/UNISIA branding in the ecu board?
There isn't supposed to be.

is it completely changed?
Is what completely changed? That circuit board is an AE802, the standard ECU fitted to late MY99 and all non-PPP MY00 right hand drive UK/Euro spec cars. There is no piggy-back circuitry or additional chip of any kind visible.

If it has been remapped, it's been done via EcuTeK, and in this case there's obviously no way to tell just by looking at the thing.