Notices

FAO Mycroft (and anyone else for that matter)

Search this Thread

Old 16 April 2003, 05:55 PM
Diablo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink

Mycroft,

Thanks for partly answering some of my technical questions on Adhesive (Molecular) Friction and Hysteretic (displacement) Friction, albeit that despite claiming to know the answers you were unable to expand on the differences between adhesion and adherence.

Interestingly, your analysis created a circular reference (I assume you appreciate the term) which could not therefore logically answer the question.

Anyway, enough of that. Whilst (as posted on another thread) my questions were a "distraction" you did believe that I was "getting it" or words to that effect.

Now I must be honest with you. I know little about molecular physics (well, nothing more than I learned at School) I am not an engineer, nor am I involved in the motor industry.

Yet I had you (and presumably many others) fooled. And if I may quote you:-

"I see what you (Diablo) are saying but your thinking is really locked in the past.. the recent past admittedly.

Couple of corrections, the PHENOMENA of 'grip' is Adherence as I correctly termed it and the quantative value is adhesion... very bad mistake that would get you knocked quite a few points in any test."

You appear to still combine Adherence and Conformity it was the separation of these that lead to a more accurate description of the the phenomena."

OK, so to be fair I am a pretty technically minded person (mostly self taught) but, to be honest, I wouldn't (until yesterday) have known the difference between Adhesive and hysteretic friction, or the difference between adherence and conformity.