Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Help for a newbie?

Search this Thread

Old 09 June 2004, 10:29 AM
thetechnogeek
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help for a newbie?

OK, so I'm a real newbie here having just bought a MY00 last week. Not really planning any mods just yet, but wondered what some of the terms used in this forum mean

- What's a decat? I assume removal of catalytic converter? Why would you want to do this?

- What's PPP (other than a healthcare company)?

- And finally, given my newbie status, if I were to do nothing but change the panel filter for a K&N or Green, would I see/feel/hear any difference at all.

Thanks for the help, and sorry for the dumb Qs. Looking forward to a long relationship with my scooby but suspect I'll be back here for help a lot!

Iain
Old 09 June 2004, 10:45 AM
scooby-jay
Scooby Regular

hello mate

you are right a decat is where you remove the catalytic converter this increases the bhp because releases more gases from the engine that is why you want to do this.

a ppp is a prodrive pack which is fitted to the car normally from a subaru dealer (air filter chip exhaust fuel pump ) makes the car go faster.

if you change the air filter you might get an extra 3-5bhp nothing to shout about and you wont really notice any changes in response throttle wise

hope this helps you a bit

cheers

scooby_jay
Old 09 June 2004, 12:27 PM
SlowBoy
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There's 2 cats in your car. One in the down pipe and one in the centre section. Replacing one or both of these parts of the exhaust with a similar part without the cat improves the flow of exhaust gases, improving performance and also sounds