Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Computer here in France won't boot up........

Search this Thread

Old 06 April 2014, 12:23 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Computer here in France won't boot up........

........so I'm having to do this onthe wife's school laptop.

It offers me Del to enter setup...which then gives me loads of options, none of which I understand, and the obvious one ends in a scrfeen about NVIDIA and seems to want a prompt?

I can also press f12.....but that does nothing.

It's off the mains at the mo.

Been five months in a cold, damp house, but usually goes OK.

Any advice gratefully received, before it costs me €€€€€ to have someone say it's had it.

Please put any response in non-computer language if poss, I'm a rank novice.

TIA
Old 06 April 2014, 12:49 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Can you post a photo of the screen contents when it offers setup? Might just need a new motherboard battery?
Old 06 April 2014, 01:49 PM
riiidaa
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

maybe it's on strike?
Old 06 April 2014, 01:52 PM
riiidaa
Scooby Regular

it may just have to have the system time set, if the mother board battery got too low.
Old 06 April 2014, 03:02 PM
Mouser
Scooby Regular

Have you tried pressing f8 repeatedly on start up?
Old 06 April 2014, 04:49 PM
hodgy0_2
Scooby Regular

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts

It can't find a boot device
Old 06 April 2014, 06:38 PM
CREWJ
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by riiidaa
maybe it's on strike?

It may be getting temperamental. Give it some time and see if it's ok later.
Old 06 April 2014, 09:20 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

OK, it's resting.
When I boot it up tomorrow I'll photograph the screens that come up and try and post them.

Thanks so far.
Old 06 April 2014, 09:25 PM
riiidaa
Scooby Regular