Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

17" vs 16"

Search this Thread

Old 24 August 2000, 03:44 PM
Missing Details
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I'm new to all this, and will be collecting my first scooby in a couple of weeks - I now have the decision - to stick with the std 16" wheels or go to 17".
How does the lower profile of 17" tyres cope with our road surfaces - I'm a bit worried about the increased risk of punctures and wheel damage.
Is the ride much harsher ? and is the better handling worth it ?
Old 24 August 2000, 05:45 PM
gregh
Scooby Regular

Jason,

Someone from Prodrive told me 17" wheels is the best upgrade you can do to the Scoob.

Greg (on 16" wheels )
Old 25 August 2000, 10:59 AM
RESSE
Scooby Regular

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Cool

Jason,
I upgraded from 16" to 17" alloys and have never looked back - in fact the wheels on my WRX look like 18" due to the fact they have 7 spokes and a narrow rim. I understand that some brake conversions need a 17" wheel size - don't quote me but that it what I have heard. I have not noticed any particular difference in ride. Hope this helps.
Old 29 August 2000, 03:17 PM
Missing Details
Scooby Newbie

Smile

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Etheridge-Bird:
<B>Jason,
I upgraded from 16" to 17" alloys and have never looked back - in fact the wheels on my WRX look like 18" due to the fact they have 7 spokes and a narrow rim. I understand that some brake conversions need a 17" wheel size - don't quote me but that it what I have heard. I have not noticed any particular difference in ride. Hope this helps.[/quote]

Looks like it's the 17's then .
Thanks

Old 31 August 2000, 01:37 PM
Robertski
Scooby Newbie

Thumbs down

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Jason Hm:
<B> Looks like it's the 17's then .
Thanks

[/quote]