ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

oil pump failures

Search this Thread

Old 11 November 2013, 11:51 AM
sean999
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pump failures

hi, still relatively new on here and have read quite a few threads where it mentions oil pump failure and it being a weak point?

im still on the look out to buy a Scooby but this sounds like something else I need to be aware of

is there anything to look out for re a worn /failing oil pump, or is it something that should not be an issue if a cars is properly serviced and maintained.

is there a connection between abused examples and problems with oil pumps.

im not a mechanic, so I apologise if this questions sounds a daft one to those in the know.

sean999
Old 11 November 2013, 12:01 PM
the shreksta
Scooby Regular

Received 495 Likes on 339 Posts

My oil pump failed and that was a cosworth one that cost nearly 300 quid,destroyed my bottom end.i now run a modified 11 mm oil pump from advanced automotive.ive heard of stories where the bolts in the back of the pump come loose and the oil pump comes away I think............not good
Old 11 November 2013, 12:02 PM
honeybadger
Scooby Regular

which models were prone to this disease?
Old 11 November 2013, 12:13 PM
sivo
Scooby Regular

Received 47 Likes on 40 Posts

Best advise IMO is to replace the oil pump as part of your cam belt service.
I've done this with genuine Subaru parts for the last 7-8 years and never had a problem.

Siv
Old 11 November 2013, 12:15 PM
Infected by sti
Scooby Regular