Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie looking at getting first scoob.

Search this Thread

Old 08 November 2010, 07:42 PM
Scutchy1984
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking at getting first scoob.

Hi guys, looks like a great community you have here!
Well as per the title I'm a Newbie to scoobs, I have reasonable knowledge of other jap brands but I'm afraid Subaru is one I know very little about!
Tbh, I'm a bit of a Toyota nut, have had various models, my last two being a starlet Glanza v, and my current a 95 supra n/a manual.
I don't know why but I really fancy a scoob, basically I'm in the Market for a bugeye wrx, I don't do trackdays and most of my driving is basic commuting, so I want a wrx due to the lower power levels but still with a bit of boost for some smiles from time to time!

Went to see a real dog at the weekend, was in dark blue and was pretty beat up but managed to get the dealer let me take it for a spin and I was real impressed, exactly what I'm after!

Anything I should look out for in particular on the wrx? I've seen alot of advice for the Sti and jdm models but no so much for the uk wrx!
I know the rear brakes are prone to seizing, as the one I drove was making some nasty noises!

Also as a commuter what kinda mpg am I likely to expect? The supra is a guzzler and I often barely pull 20ish to the gallon, I'm hoping for mid 20's on a light commute daily, or am I asking too much there?

Sorry for the essay guys!
Rich.
Old 08 November 2010, 08:31 PM
Richie856
Scooby Regular

Hello and welcome mate
Apart from looking at your local dealers, keep an eye on the for sale section here or on www.SIDC.co.uk and also Pistonheads.
You might be right with the mpg...depending on how you drive it!
I'm a blobeye driver so don't know the ins and outs of the bug.
Good luck
Old 08 November 2010, 08:57 PM
scoobywrxwagon
Scooby Regular

Hi and welcome