Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuel gauge now working. . I think?

Search this Thread

Old 17 October 2010, 01:14 PM
scotty_b
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel gauge now working. . I think?

Ok stick with me on this one, I have purchased my first impreza and loving it!! Its an 05 UK STi PPP. Picked it up Wednesday checked through all paperwork etc etc all good ticked the right boxes.

So picked it up it had 3/4 of a tank of petrol. So its down to 1/4 so just popped to put some in. Put £45 in although still reading 1/4? This was about 30 mins ago? As left it just incase was a little slow? Reading though the receipts etc couple of days ago again and noticed just over a month ago was taken into local garage and had (I quote) 'i had the uprated Prodrive fuel pump and tank leveller fitted at EMG Subaru, this cost £750'. Now like I said im a newbie so though great but could this be causing the problem?

Any help etc more than welcome!

Scotty
Old 17 October 2010, 01:26 PM
f1_fan
Scooby Regular

Well I can only speak for the classic, but if it's the same yes the fuel level sender is attached to the same mount as the fuel pump in the tank. I put a Walbro pump on mine and you had to be careful not to foul the sender when removing it and the pump from the tank and when replacing it. Woudl be quite easy to leave it obstructed and hence stuck in the one position I think.
Old 17 October 2010, 02:12 PM
scotty_b
Scooby Regular

Ok it gets worse! Oh well! Just been out and the EML is on constant? Just dug out the receipt from EMG in Cambridge and it's had fuel pump and tank sensor replaced costing £736! Now this was only 260 miles ago and just over a month so I'm giving them a call in the morning but just wondering if it's this that could throw up the fault
Old 17 October 2010, 02:57 PM
f1_fan
Scooby Regular

I guess it could be , but sounds unlikely. I wouldn't drive it with the EML on except to take it to a dealer so they can run a diganostic test.