Sponsored by:

My First Subaru.....Need Help!!

Search this Thread

Old 09 May 2010, 04:42 PM
kevaldo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My First Subaru.....Need Help!!

Hi guys, I'm new to all this Subaru stuff, I have been to check this scooby out twice I'm a fan of it, but my step dads talking me out of it. I'm after some advice here about the mods its had done, its from a guy in blackburn CGS motorsport, loves his scoobys.

VF34TURBO - thats a turbo from a newer scooby am I right?
APEXI ECU WITH COMMANDER
HKS FMIC
HKS COILOVERS
DEFI GAUGES
GREDDY B SPEC BOOSTCONTROLLER
6 POT CALIPERS

It has apparently 356bhp, but I have seen a print out saying it has 324bhp but that was a while ago.

I like it a lot, I'm just in two minds as would it be hard work to keep on the road, but I don't do many miles about 4000 a year, would it be a bit harsh to drive? Just some general advice would be great guys. I'm also not a nugget behind the wheel haha.

Cheers Kev
Old 09 May 2010, 04:50 PM
alcazar
Scooby Regular

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Hi Kev, and welcome.

You need to give us a bit more to work with, like what model year is it, how many miles has it done, who mapped it, etc.

The cars are great, but if anything does go wrong, watch out wallet. The engines also are quite sensitive to the map, so the mapper needs to be in touch with how much the engine can take, and not just go for big gains. Sadly, not all mappers are equal.

Then you need to know how much work has ever been done. Mine, for example, went for the headgasket replaced. One of the heads needed skimming. The garage doing it either didn't know, or didn't care about compression ratios, and that helped it det itself to death on a VERY hot French motorway last August.

Getting it back soon, but boy, has it cost me bigtime And that's despite the help and generosity of people on here

Thirdly, take fuel consumption into account: mine wants to stop at every Shell station it sees