Newbie!!

Search this Thread

Old 25 November 2009, 02:49 PM
DDS789
Scooby Regular

Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Newbie!!

Hi Everyone

Firstly great site, learnt so much already.

Im new to the subaru world, though always wanted one! Well back in september i finally got one, in the shape of a 1995 WRX Type RA

I had a BMW M3 Evolution and took the RA in part ex for it. Here it is, was a mint one.

The Bmw was an amaizing car, nearly the very best of both worlds in performance and comfort. But it was quite limited on the performance side, being a 3.2 straight six putting out 321bhp it was already tuned as far as it could unless i spent silly money! So it went up forsale in the attempt to get the car i always a wanted a SCOOBY!

I was looking into getting a newer scoob and the 03/04 plate blob eyes were in my price range but a change in circumstances saw me plump for the Classic with some cash on top.

Well here it is my RA soon after i got it

It was great lots of mods including power fc with controller, coilovers, new forged engine, race clutch and lots lots more.

But three weeks in and a big pop, i have masses of blue smoke under accelleration some mayo in the filler cap and petrol smelling oil in the sump

Suspected piston/ring failure me thinks, and probably head gasket too! I phoned around and did some research into engine builds and replacement engines. Thank god i found this place as i was very close to buying one of the "famous" refurbed engines off the bay!! So its off to scoobyclinic to be built, not booked in yet but hoping too this week. i talked to david at Api too, he was brilliant loads of advice and ideas on what maybe happened but its 2 and half hours from me and wouldnt be practical in the future to drive back and forth. Have no idea what i want to do with the engine yet, wanna see whats in there first.