Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Newbie viewing a WRX tomorrow...

Search this Thread

Old 17 April 2009, 10:03 PM
BigSeal
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Newbie viewing a WRX tomorrow...

Hi All,

I am new to Impreza, moving from a 96 JDM DC2-R...

Going to view a WRX tomorrow, 2004 WRX with ProDrive pack, currently on 69K and part Surbaru History.

What should I be looking for apart from the service history?

Cam belt done roughly at 50K and last service done 7000miles ago.

Any advise welcome...

Regards,

Seal
Old 18 April 2009, 08:10 AM
Jonnys3
Scooby Regular

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Just a few things I'd look out for:

Check for proof of cambelt change - when I bought my WRX, the receipt for the cambelt came with the car.

The car should have a ProDrive Performance Pack certificate (to ensure authentic PPP)

Perform all usual basic checks including oil, transmission oil, check hoses/connectors, etc

Listen to the engine on idle and somewhere around the 5k rev mark - listen for knocking (search on youtube for subaru engine knock if you don't know what you're really listening out for - severe knocking is bad and should be avoid at all costs) - check for smoke from exhaust etc

Take it for a drive, make sure gearbox is smooth through gears, and ensure car is smooth through acceleration and on boost.

Perform all other usual basic checks.

The car should also have a four digit security code for the security pad - get the owner to show you this.

I'd also perform a HPI check.

Oh, it'll be ready for it's 70k service soon. See the link to get an idea of servicing schedules/costs:

http://www.scoobyclinic.com/download...hedule_new.pdf

Don't let temptation overtake - a badly looked after impreza will cost you in the long run, but a well looked after impreza will bring you losts of fun in the long run. Any hesitation and I'd advise you to walk away.