Sponsored by:

Opinions on new WRX??

Search this Thread

Old 25 February 2002, 12:31 PM
WRX SEE
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi everyone,

Newbie here...been lurking for a while now...currently in the market for a new car...after several different marques of GTis, am considering a new Impreza WRX.

My key intent is to use the WRX as daily transport, with the odd 2000+ pan-European jaunt and Nurburgring fun. In your opinion is the WRX suited to this purpose?

I must admit I have not spent much time researching the Scooby scene - although this board makes for quite worthwhile reading. However I've heard some great stories about the previous model WRX, although I understand that car to be quite tinny...after a short testdrive in a new WRX, I was quite impressed with the driveability and steering feedback.

Now I'm wondering what you think of the new WRX versus the old WRX? How does the new WRX compare to the new STi? Obviously the STi is going to be better for the difference in price...but is it worth it?

Additionally, what are your views on the 'must have' performance upgrades for the new WRX? Is the standard turbo car chip/exhaust/dumpvalve combo enough to bring significant performance gains?

[Edited by WRX SEE - 2/25/2002 12:52:31 PM]
Old 25 February 2002, 01:01 PM
Tiggs
Scooby Regular

someone needsssssssss to get search working again!
Old 25 February 2002, 01:29 PM
Steve vRS
Scooby Regular

New WRX is fantastic, STi even better, for all your needs.

MOD wise for a WRX (the order I've done them anyway):-
Back-box (to get the flat 4 warrble back)
Big rear spoiler (to make the car stand out from other 4 door saloons)
Brakes (to stop a 220hp car you need 220hp brakes)

Personnaly, I like the bug-eyes so would not bother with the Morrettes.

Steve

PS I never owned a 'classic' shape so cannot compare the two.
Old 25 February 2002, 02:49 PM
Chris L
Scooby Regular

Smile