Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Here, some Q's on my new impreza (1st time owner!)

Search this Thread

Old 30 May 2006, 05:09 PM
h4rry
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie Here, some Q's on my new impreza (1st time owner!)

Hello everyone, just bought my first impreza yesterday and hope to be welcomed to the site and become an active member!!

Now i am quite mechanically minded and not too bad with cars, but have never had a turbo before. Previously i was a Vauxhall owner and completely modified my Mk3 astra from standard to the extreeme including an engine change.

The car ive bought is a 2002 model Bug eye Wrx uk spec in world rally blue. Its done 48500 miles and ive paid £9000 for it, Its got the quad headlight conversion and an adjustable sti rear wing. Gud deal??

First of all i would like to know what BHP the car should be running as there are so many different models about these days.

Then secondly, coming from a modifying background i wann start with this but only subtle mods. I would appreciate it if someone could tell me the best makes for the following parts that you recommend i purchase for my new baby!

Air filter (panel or cone?? Looking for more power rather than sound)

Dump valve (obvoiusly i must have one on my first turbocharged car! )

Exhaust (considered an Sti exhaust or have heard that hayward scott are a reputable make, again looking for power but nothing too loud - a nice purrr will do! )

Beyond this i will be looking for advice from u guys and gals as to where to go next or if theres anything you would recommend doing!

I dont wanna spend hundreds immediatly as i simple avnt got it but would like to progress slowly over the summer months!

Your adice would be much appreciated and i hope to meet some of you at some scooby meets or track days in the near future!!!
Old 30 May 2006, 05:35 PM
speye91
Scooby Regular