Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion

Oh, so many questions....

Search this Thread

Old 06 June 2000, 12:03 AM
Aero
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Autofirst insured my MY94 type RA on the chassis number.
0181 939 3929.
6yr NCB
SP50
27yo
Garage
Thatch cat 1
£960

Worth doing, as travelling without really is asking for it.

You'll need evidence of you having used the car abroad, so take photo's of you and the motor near a someone in Dutch national costume, and get receipts receipts for petrol etc. Foreign de-registration certificates will be required also.

I agree with Marcus there, you will need to declare it, and customs can choose how long they take to clear it.

This is just to the BOMK, I'm no expert on importing, but I hope all goes well for you.

Every time I get home I give my Scooby a cuddle.

Old 06 June 2000, 12:34 AM
RichB
Scooby Regular

A-Plan arranged cover on my STis chassis number. 0845 0711234 ask for Lee.
They were the cheapest but Keith Michaels were very close.
The DVLA have reasonable web sites, try starting from :
Old 06 June 2000, 09:24 AM
Geezer
Scooby Senior

Smile

Having heard at the weekend that my new Scoob will be ready to pick up at the beginning of July, I have some questions.

Firstly, insurance. After ringing around, it seems that hardly anyone is willing to touch an import before it gets to the UK. I don't particularly wish to drive uninsured, or insured third party only (which I can get from the dealer), 'cause you know that sods law dictates that it will get pranged!!!

Can anybody recommend an insurance company that will <B> definitely </B> insure me on the chassis number, full comp from Holland to the UK.

Also, the dealer reckons that the transit plates should not be used in Belgium or France, but surely as they are EU plates, and I can drive through the UK with them, they are equally valid in any EU country??? Does anybody have a definitive answer on this??