ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help recovered wagon

Search this Thread

Old 10 December 2003, 04:38 PM
mattdoyle
Scooby Regular

Location: From Outback 2 classic wagon 2 newage wagon 2 Legy TT 2 classic 2 newage STi
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Had my 98 uk wagon stolen on the 23/11/03, day after we went on holiday!, trashed the house looking for the keys, wish I had just left them out, hindsight is always 20/20!
Found it in Liverpool/Wavertree on the 2/12/03. Have it recovered now at Subaru dealer, doesnt appear to have any external damage but as both sets of keys went will have to wait for a lockset change to see if it will start.
Hope the engine and gearbox still function

Any tips as to what to request to be checked/replaced by the insurance?

regards
Old 10 December 2003, 04:43 PM
OllyK
Scooby Regular

Sorry to hear that m8 - hope there is nothing serious wrong!

I am no expert but having rewad various threads I would check the following:

Check for signs of damage to the engine, possible det damage, plus also turbo damage as I doubt they let it warm up or cool down properly.

Also check the tracking as this can get knocked out easily and you can soon shred a set of tyres if it is wrong.

If they had the keys the electrics should be OK, but worth a check.

Get them to do the equivalent of a full PDI as a matter of course.

Check for any internal damage, carpets, seats, *****, buttons, stereo operation etc etc.

Am sure others will add other things.

Once again - hope the scum ain't done anything serious to it
Old 10 December 2003, 05:02 PM
mattdoyle
Scooby Regular

Location: From Outback 2 classic wagon 2 newage wagon 2 Legy TT 2 classic 2 newage STi
Olly
Thanks,

What do you mean by 'det damage' and what is a PDI?
Sorry if I sound a bit thck but this is the first time I have ever had to claim for anything!

Old 10 December 2003, 05:09 PM
OllyK
Scooby Regular