Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BUYING THIS STI!!! ADVICE AND OPINIONS NEEDED, FROM JAPAN!!

Search this Thread

Old 21 December 2023, 12:27 PM
zabbyy
Scooby Newbie

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default BUYING THIS STI!!! ADVICE AND OPINIONS NEEDED, FROM JAPAN!!

Hello everybody! Im new to this forum!
Hope everybody is enjoying and healthy.
I was raised and live in japan.
Im new to Subaru world and I have not much knowledge about subarus, I have been a 1jz guy pretty much my whole life.
Im going to buy a subaru as a daily driver and I have come across two options.
I registered to clubwrx before this and people were really nice there in giving advices and opinions.
I wanted to connect with more subaru fanatics so I came across this page as well.
Here are the two options that Im considering in my price range.

First is 2002 BLOBEYE STI
88K miles
almost stock other than maybe muffler and wheels
repainted in midnight-ish purple
timing belt has been changed around 50K miles.
I personally dont like the color but dont hate it either.
But Im loving the compartively low mileage and price.

The showroom said they bought it from a person not from any auto auction, they say that the previous owner said it has not accident history or repair history.
But theres no proof to that.

The O2 sensor is gone so engine check lamp is on but the showroom said they gonna do all the basic maintainence and inspection before they deliver me the car so not to worry about the check lamp.
No apparent oil leaks either

Heres the car

I havent test drove it cause its pretty far but Im willing to go test it if I make my mind up.

So now the second car
2006 Hawkeye STIaround 80k miles.

Mods:

boost guage
turbo timer
hks air intake
​other than that all stock
original paint
timing belt hasnt been changed yet.

Original paint.
Exterior has some defects as shown in pics.
But the main problem is RUST.