3rd Gen Legacy GTB

Search this Thread

Old 25 August 2018, 03:09 AM
SRJ
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3rd Gen Legacy GTB

Hopefully this is ok on here!

Bought my first Jap car and looking for some information. I'm a mechanic to trade but was always into old fords more than anything else. Always liked the look of these and fancied something with a bit more power so ended up with this. Never really worked on many Subaru's so bit of a learning curve.

Plan is to get the car back on the road then get the body prepared while i rebuild the spare engine i've got looking for a decent bit of power. From what ive read single turbo is the way to go so i've been here having a look about. Some very nice cars and some guys obviously in the know so looking for a bit of help along the way!

Copied and pasted from another forum.
Bought a 3rd Gen Legacy GTB (TT) etune, got it relatively cheap due to the engine being in parts in the boot but it seems to be in pretty good condition.. except the OSR arch
Story is bottom end went, previous owner got another short block but never got round to putting it back together.

Theres quite a few bits missing from the engine bay and bits that need replaced so i bought another car to break. Sad to end a b4 rsk but needs must. Bottom end was knocking, but had a load of decent parts.

I've bought and stripped many a car to provide parts for my projects but this is the first subaru ive went this deep with. One thing ive noticed is how easily it seems to come apart, theres plugs where you would like there to be plugs. Almost as it some thought actually went into putting it together.. something you dont see in other manufacturers!

Then got started stripping the engine to see what the damage was. Found a few issues.. its had a water leak coming from the main coolant crossover pipe, instead of stripping some parts and repairing it someone has opted for a bottle of K-seal or similar a pet hate of mine.

more bad news