Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Advice: Share Dealing ISA

Search this Thread

Old 15 October 2010, 11:18 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice: Share Dealing ISA

I'm looking for a quick crash course in the best way to invest in shares without incurring tax penalties.

As a reminder: I am a professional poker player and HMRC do not view any of my income as tax deductible. I tell you this so that you are aware that I currently pay no tax and use non of my yearly income tax allowance.

I am interested in investing money in a particular share and have been told that I should set up a share dealing ISA and invest all that money in the share. This was suggested to me as I would not have to pay any tax on profits whereas I only have an £11k allowance with a normal share dealing account before I would have to pay capital gains tax. Can anyone confirm the validity of my sources claims?

Also, can anyone give me an indication of how (and how easy it is) to set up a share dealing ISA and instruct all of the money to be invested in a single company? Finally, is any one bank going to be better than another for this purpose.

I will continue to research on Google...but I know there are a few financial nuts on here that can probably put things in layman's terms and bring me up to speed
Old 15 October 2010, 11:23 PM
LG John
Scooby Regular

This seems to confirm that a share dealing ISA would not incur income tax or capital gains tax penalties on profits
Old 15 October 2010, 11:30 PM
GlesgaKiss
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

A share dealing isa is definitely the way to go. They aren't liable for any tax whatsoever. PM if you have any specific questions. Investing in just one stock obviously carries quite a lot of risk.
Old 15 October 2010, 11:40 PM
GlesgaKiss
Scooby Regular