MTB - tubeless tyres

Search this Thread

Old 07 August 2009, 11:28 AM
BOB.T
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question MTB - tubeless tyres

Hey

So I called in at the bike shop yesterday as I was passing...managed to come out with two tyres, two valves, two rim tapes and some puncture gunk!

Is there anything I need to watch for when I fit them? I've never used tubeless before, never used the gunk either!

The guy was saying that you can run them at much lower pressures for increased grip. Does that not increase drag though? I did read something about them rolling better as they can absorb bumps better.

Your thoughts
Old 07 August 2009, 01:32 PM
andythejock01wrx
Scooby Regular

Have them on the Scapel but I must confess I'm not that keen. Didn't notice a lot of difference in ride, control etc.

A good thing is that because there's no tube to be ripped apart, they tend not to go flat on the trail. The flipside is that you won't notice a slow leak and you'll find the tyre is flat when you take the bike our the shed the next morning! Ended up just stcking tubes in them and using them as std tyres, which you can do (they came with the bike)! Apparently squezzy creates a better seal.

Andy TJ
Old 07 August 2009, 01:39 PM
hux309
Also known as daz

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I plan on going this route when i order me up a new set of wheels.

The best way is a ust tyre on a ust rim, preferably with sealant inside for the obvious puncture protection.

If done right it's meant to be great, i always pick up thorn punctures so im willing to give it a shot, if it doesn't work i can always revert back to tubed.

Anyway here's a video that explains how to fit it.

YouTube - NoTubes Tubeless-Kit Installation
Old 07 August 2009, 01:44 PM
Scoobydiid
Scooby Regular