Living & Working dubai

Search this Thread

Old 13 November 2008, 02:34 PM
finalzero
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Living & Working dubai

Hi,

As per the title, wanted to find out if anyone had worked and lived in Dubai recently to get an idea of what it's like out there.

Long story short, I have been offered a job to work for a UK company based in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, offering £45k tax free salary, company car and some allowance towards living costs.

I am a novice to this kind of stuff so would appreciate views of what it's like out there, pitfalls etc as I don't know if the £45k salary will cover the cost of living and working a year in Dubai.

I also have a young family so I plan to get them out there at some point, again feedback on schools etc would be appreciated.

I checked out the various sites out there but it's always nice to hear first hand experience.

Not accepted the offer yet but want to make my decision sooner rather than later - it's a big step and on the flip side I have just started a "comfort" job in my home town, working for a large established organisation in a pretty plush office (would put to shame the technology on the Star Trek Enterprise ship lol).

Cheers,

Fz
Old 13 November 2008, 02:52 PM
DisoDisp
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've lived in dubai between 1994 and 2004, and looking to go Abu Dhabi 2011-2014.

Bear in mind that rents are sky high atm, (alhtough the housing market is collapsing, but it might take some time for rents to go down)
housing allowance is a must, look to pay around 500,000AED per annum for a decent villa in Dubai (which is what, 82k pounds?)
Places can be had for cheaper, i.e. apartments, you can take a look at prices at Dubai Property Real Estate ? Rent, buy or Sale Properties in Dubai, UAE Apartments and Villas with Better Homes. Manage or Invest in Dubai Property with us..