Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Strike Action Query

Search this Thread

Old 10 July 2008, 09:46 PM
Walwal
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Strike Action Query

As some of you may know, the Unison union has called a 2 day strike next week for its Council members.

I Work as a joiner for a Council, but I'm in UCATT, the construction union. Unison is mainly an office worker union, but our union rep from UCATT has been out to see us today, saying our union expect us in UCATT to support the strike and not turn in for 2 days next week, therefore losing 2 days pay.

A few of our manual working lads are in GMB, who have voted to accept the 2.45% pay deal, and we in UCATT haven't been balloted at all, either on the deal, or strike action, but we're all expected to come out.

Now some are saying it's illegal for us or GMB to strike as we haven't had a strike ballot, and it's also mentioned we're in breach of contract if we don't turn in because there hasn't been a strike ballot.

A major bone of contention among our lot is whether Unison would support us by striking if we did in the future about something our union wasn't happy with, which none of us think they would, which is adding fuel to the fire.

Any legal eagles shed any light on this matter??

Thanks,

Andy

Last edited by Walwal; 10 July 2008 at 09:49 PM. Reason: added a bit :)
Old 11 July 2008, 12:05 AM
Bugatti
Scooby Regular

I believe you have to go into work as normal as your union hasn't balloted you and given notice of a strike by it's members. You would indeed be in breach of contract if you failed to turn up.

You should only carry out the work you normally would and nothing extra to cover for your colleagues who are striking as you would then be undermining their strike action.

I'm no expert but that is my understanding of the way it works from when we were in a similar situation. Someone more knowledgeable will be along soon no doubt .
Old 11 July 2008, 12:27 AM