Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Do you use your handbrake when stood in traffic ?

Search this Thread

Old 22 December 2007, 12:54 AM
corradoboy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Do you use your handbrake when stood in traffic ?

Following on from the foglight discussion, do you drive as prescribed by the DSA and secure your car on the handbrake when stationary at junctions. If you are the first or second car you should be on the handbrake, but in gear ready to react, but why doesn't everyone else take the opportunity to rest their legs for a few moments, make the world a safer place and knock it out of gear whilst safely locked on the handbrake ? Almost every car I see, and I do look as I am a driving instructor, is sat there with one foot on the brake, the other on the clutch and in gear. Not only are you blinding the guy behind with your brake lights, but if struck from behind you will [probably] loose control of the pedals whilst in gear and be propelled possibly into crossing traffic like a pinball. You are also potentially causing damage to your braking system

Come on then, roughly 3 out of 4 I see do this, is it you ?
Old 22 December 2007, 01:10 AM
The Snug Rhino
Scooby Regular

Location: I have ad blocked my rep - so dont waste your time!

There was a thing on the news about this....apparently hospitals are seeing more and more people with eye problems that they think are caused, at least in part, by looking directly at brake lights when in traffic. Scary stuff......the doctors said it was almost as common as talkingnonsenseitus which they are seeing a lot of.
Old 22 December 2007, 07:15 AM
mart360
Scooby Regular

Its funny to see all these do you do this or do you do that threads appearing...

it could be said that these are almost admissions of what you dont do, and by getting others to agree, it would make it all right

I use the handbrake where its use is required like wise fogs, indicators, hazards etc.

Mart