Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Whats a good weight to bench?

Search this Thread

Old 31 October 2007, 11:04 PM
pimmo2000
Scooby Regular

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Whats a good weight to bench?

I'm new to this weights thing. I've been into running and climbing for a while but I'm not sure I'm doing the bench press correctly... weight wise,

I weight 13 stone and am about 5, 11. Normal size guy really. Obviously my shoulders are a little bigger as are my arms from climbing, but nothing that would make you proud.

Basically I want to improve the look of my body as I'm at the correct strenght for what I do. I get people watching me and when its hot I'd love to take my shirt off and not worry about the way I look.

Dont get me wrong, theres not a bit of fat or flab on me, I'm very toned.. but I dont look impressive.

I think its just me being silly, but I'm hoping to make myself look better without increasing my weight too much.. big factor in climbing.. the heavier I get the stronger I need to be !

At the moment I am benching 22.8 kg 11.4 on eiter side. It seems a comfortable weight but as I say does anyone have a suggestion for how much I should be lifting ?

Thanks a lot.

edit plus the car weight.. if that makes any difference?
Old 31 October 2007, 11:08 PM
STi wanna Subaru
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The guide is to build up to be able to lift your own bodyweight. Train for what you want to do. If you want to bulk then it's heavy and low reps but you don't really want that by the sounds as it would restrict your climbing.

I presume you're doing 10 reps per set now or more? may be worth increasing the weight and dropping the reps if so. A spotter is a good idea as well for your form and to help you judge what you can lift.
Old 31 October 2007, 11:15 PM
pimmo2000
Scooby Regular

No one I can be sure will be here all the time sadly.

I've been doing 3 sets of 10 for the different weights, arms back etc.