Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Can anyone help - knee keeps clicking?

Search this Thread

Old 05 September 2007, 05:08 PM
drb5
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can anyone help - knee keeps clicking?

Ok, for the last 3 months or so, going up and down stairs hasn't been a struggle, but my left knee when straightening up, always clicks.

It isn't a click like you need to crack your nuckles or similar, but a click which you feel ever so slightly and is really quite annoying.

It's gotten to the point where if i crouch down about 2-3 inches and straighten up, that even makes it click.

Yesterday and today, it has been rather painful in the way it moves. At certain points, it gives a very sharp pain like when you bend your elbow too far back the wrong way. I'm unsure if this is a pain caused by the clicking, or if it was something else.

I'm a panel beater by trade and getting down on my knees or crouching is a day in day out occurance.

I don't want to go to the docs as i'm convinced they'll say it'll go away and not to bother them, so does anyone on here have any ideas?
Old 05 September 2007, 05:17 PM
Scooby Snacks 23
Scooby Regular

I've had 5 ops on my right knee following an old rugby injury (cartilidge removal, ACL reconstruction etc) and mine clicks all the time.

If you knee is giving way, you could have torn your ACL (anterior cruciate ligament). Contrary to what some people may think, you can tear it without even knowing. You do say that you are having some pain though.

It wouldn't hurt to have it checked out by your doc, who may refer you on - wer'e not getting younger you know!

One other thing - do you take cod liver oil tabs?
Old 05 September 2007, 05:31 PM
drb5
Scooby Regular

Cheers for that fella.

I'm not a particularly active person....don't play sports etc, so no KNOWN damage.