Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

velux windows

Search this Thread

Old 08 September 2006, 06:49 PM
stevebt
Scooby Regular

Received 33 Likes on 19 Posts
Default velux windows

does anyone know what the regulations are on these now ??? i always assumed you could fit one without any regs etc as they dont alter the roof, but someone has told me they cant be fitted to the front of the house now !! is this true ??? and is some form of planning permission needed so that they can fitted fitted on the fron of the house ??
Old 08 September 2006, 07:11 PM
Dave1980
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

are you changing an exisiting window or adding an extension to put these windows in?.

as far as i am aware and i am a site manager you do not need planning permission if you are replacing old with new.
Old 08 September 2006, 08:17 PM
gussy
Scooby Regular

Location: oop north in a spec-c.Now sold and starting on a classic ra track/sprint/road car
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Steve best bet would be to go down to your local council and have a quick crack with one of the planning officers.I fitted velux windows in the back of my bungalow a few years ago and as long as they didnt alter the roof line it was ok.
Old 08 September 2006, 08:28 PM
decepticon
Scooby Regular

would have thought you would need planning permission for roof velux as you should if you want to put a normal window in, as you are changing the appearance of your property. Also must be aware that if you are planning on having one over looking a neighbours house then it will have to be a permanently fixed and obscured one.
just what i have encountered with similar situation but all councils (and even officers) differ county to county so get it checked out.
should be able to find out on local council websites.
cheers
neil
Old 08 September 2006, 08:32 PM
stevebt
Scooby Regular