Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

any project managers on here...?

Search this Thread

Old 06 May 2006, 05:32 PM
brihoppy
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default any project managers on here...?

hey all...

following on from a few comments on another thread, i was wondering if anyone can give me an insight into being a project manager...?

is it really a viable, credible job, or just another fancy title; is it a competitive area; what are the basics, etc...

thanks for any input, bri...
Old 06 May 2006, 05:46 PM
Gutmann pug
Scooby Regular

Yes mate i'm a project manager for a large manufacturing company.

Its a great job, no two days are the same. I would suggest going at it a fresh you need some kind of qualification such as Prince 2. You will also need a good knowledge of a microsoft projects system.

Most of all you need good man management skills, again with proof, good sense of humour, good report writing skills and a large portion of common sense.......

Gary
Old 06 May 2006, 05:55 PM
scoobyjimbo
Scooby Regular

I moved from IT project management to IT management (about 5 years ago)and am glad I did. Dont get me wrong i enjoyed the variety of the job and the role but the overwhelming pressure can be most of the time imense. Look at the job sites you see loads of project managers roles advertised and they usually have decent salaries. This is usually becuase there are a highish turnover of project managers which keeps the job market fairly active. If you can handle the pressure and like man manageent and you are well organised then go for it. But as already mentioned you will probbaly need prince 2 acrediditation to get the good salaries, also knowing about ITIL (if you want to be an IT project manager) would be good.

Good luck

J
Old 06 May 2006, 06:22 PM
brihoppy
Scooby Regular

yeah ive got the skills and qualities you describe but unfortunately i dont get to use them much in my current job...