Salary negotiations..

Search this Thread

Old 19 January 2006, 08:39 PM
mart360
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Salary negotiations..

As some of you may have seen i have an interview next week,

from what ive been told the salary on offer is under what i previously earnt by a fair margin. Now i know that you shouldnt discuss salary on a first interview, but from past experiance this company never used to do second interviews, but would say yay or nay shortly after.

what would be the best way to find out whats on offer before we go too far down the interview route.

I know the going rate for my profession is about 1.5k more than there offering

any ideas how to bump em up?? without being blunt on my second question??

Mart
Old 19 January 2006, 08:42 PM
paulr
Scooby Regular

Question

If they offer you the job cant you then ask to discuss salary before you accept.
Old 19 January 2006, 08:44 PM
iamevilhomer
Scooby Regular

why would you want to move to a firm paying less anyway?
Old 19 January 2006, 08:45 PM
ryn004
Scooby Regular

Towards an interview, the interviewr always ask if you have any questions....ask him/her then!
Old 19 January 2006, 09:12 PM
Thomas Wainwright
Scooby Regular

Just take the job if you're out of work. Then look for something else after a few months.
Old 19 January 2006, 09:19 PM
StickyMicky
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by iamevilhomer
why would you want to move to a firm paying less anyway?
think he is out of work ATM
Old 19 January 2006, 09:19 PM
darren...
Scooby Regular

Don't discuss salary in the interview - make sure your cv shows your last salary and then if a job offer is made enquire about the salary. You are in a much better bargaining position if they've made the emotional decision that they want to hire you.

If you cv shows your salary then they know they've got to be competitive.
HTH
Old 19 January 2006, 09:33 PM
GaryCat
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by darren...