Battery Desulphator?

Search this Thread

Old 20 November 2005, 03:36 PM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Received 301 Likes on 240 Posts
Default Battery Desulphator?

Anyone made/bought or used one?

I have a few batteries which I've allowed to discharge for a bit too long and thus sulphated, reducing their capacity. I was wondering if these devices would restore their capacity again.

I've dug round the web and found this DIY setup, which seems simple enough to make with very little expense: http://www.shaka.com/~kalepa/lowpower.htm

Any good?
Old 20 November 2005, 03:41 PM
GC8
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ive just realised that a nearly new battery in an RVR that Ive imported has sulphated; its really bad though with the ends of the battery ballooning..... Its worth a go though.

Someone should give building one a try; if only one of us had read some form of electronics at uni. I did a worthless A&H degree Ali, how about you?

Simon
Old 20 November 2005, 04:05 PM
ALi-B
Support Scoobynet!

Tell me about it, I have a 12 months old bike battery that is pretty much dead due to a automatic charger that doesn't like small batteries (shuts off prematurely - took me 3 dead batteries to realise ). And the battery on my scoob is starting to sound like its a bit tired on start up in the cold, which has a had few too many deep discharges (lifetime guarantee, so if I kill it experimenting - not to worry ).

I'm going to give it a bash anyway and make one when I have some spare time. I've downloaded several circuit diagrams, just need to fathom which one looks the best.

I did A-Level electronics many moons ago, I've forgotten much of the advanced mathematics rules and equations. But as long as somone else has done the hard work and number crunching, I should be ok

Last edited by ALi-B; 20 November 2005 at 04:08 PM.
Old 20 November 2005, 04:33 PM
GC8
Scooby Regular