Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Property Newbie - to rent or buy?

Search this Thread

Old 22 September 2004, 03:50 PM
SupaMiniCupa
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Property Newbie - to rent or buy?

I'm a bit of a newbie to the site, but have been reading this room a fair bit recently, and you guys seem to be knowledgable on most stuff so I've got a question on property...

Myself and two other single lads are thinking of moving out of our respective parents houses, to share a house. Whats the best way to approach it?

We were thinking of buying, but i'm not so sure about that given the uncertainty over a house price crash. So, we're looking at renting. Plan would have been to look to sell up at the end of 5 years.

None of us have ever been away to uni etc, so have been at home for all of our 24 year lives! Is buying too big a step to start with? Is it better to test the water and rent first? Maybe for a year or so? What would suit us better financially given we plan to redeem early?

Does anybody have any advice on the day-to-day practicalities of running a household like this? Any help gratefully appreciated!!

Feel free to ask any questions on stuff I may have left out!

Cheers!

Tim.

Old 22 September 2004, 03:59 PM
davegtt
Scooby Senior

cant see you making any sort of profit on a house in 5 years the way the market is and if the housing market does fall (wont crash IMO) then you'll be close to negative equity. you have to be sure u can live with these other lads, OK good friends an all but do u know their habits, what happens in a years time, u get a misses, settle down and need your own space, getting a morgage is a silly idea IMO. renting would be much better suited, people can walk when wanted/needed. u never know whats around the corner

my opinion is to rent for a year, get to know each others living habits and watch the housing market and take it from there
Old 22 September 2004, 04:10 PM
Buzzer
Scooby Regular