Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Overtime working rates

Search this Thread

Old 08 July 2004, 06:39 PM
reas334
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overtime working rates

im currently working as a trainee QS in a construction company and received an email the other day from the boss telling us our overtime rates to put on our time sheets for any extra work we do on site.

turns out my overtime rate per hour, is £3 less than my standard hourly rate (this isnt much anyway cos im a trainee!!

can any of you tell me if this is legal surely if i'm working unsocialable or longer hours i should get some benefit. me and the other trainees have reviews next week so i'd like some advice pls

cheers

mark
Old 08 July 2004, 06:49 PM
logiclee
Scooby Regular

Depends on your terms and conditions and how your basic pay is made up.
Is your overtime rate meeting the minimum wage requirements?

Our workers basic pay is made up of an hourly payment, then anti-social hours payment, then a basic bonus payement, then a production bonus.

Overtime rates are 1.5X and 2X hourly rate. Our workers can work Saturday for time and a half but will be on less money than Friday.

I'm on a yearly salary and average around 52 hours a week, I also work most weekends but don't get paid any additional money.
Salary is quite good though.

Cheers
Lee
Old 08 July 2004, 07:11 PM
reas334
Scooby Regular

my t & c mention nothing about overtime rates, just that i'm contracted to do 39 hours a week.

i was just of the opinion that overtime rates were generally 1.5 times your hourly rate. seems a bit tight of the company to ask me to give up a saturday then offer me less money than i would get on a day im actually contracted to work.
Old 08 July 2004, 07:15 PM
ProperCharlie
Scooby Regular

basically - if you don't want to do it, then tell them to stick it. they aren't obliged to pay you any particular rate for overtime unless it specifically says so in you t&cs.