Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Acting as an executor? Probate?

Search this Thread

Old 01 July 2004, 11:36 AM
Blobster
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Acting as an executor? Probate?

Could anyone provide advice with the above.
My grandmother passed away at the weekend and I am appointed as the executor of her will.
As I've never done this before I would appreciate a walk through of what I am supposed to do.

Blobster
Old 01 July 2004, 11:53 AM
David Lock
Scooby Regular

Sorry to hear news. There is a booklet which explains all. Something like "What to do after a death" or something cheerful like that. Your Doctor may have one otherwise try Registery Office or look up Probate office and phone and they will post you one. There are Probate Offices that cover a region e.g. in Brighton in my area. In fact phone Probate Office anyway and ask for necessary forms. Are you sole executor or joint - this makes a slight difference? Forms are relatively straightforward but you will need to get bank statements etc and to do this you will need various documents which are all explained. On Probate form you will have a choice of which court office to attend which should be fairly local to you so that you can obtain Certificate of Probate. Only when this is done can the Will be dealt with. Note if there are funds in a bank account these can usually be utilised for funeral cost before Probate is granted. If there is a modect financial amount then it should all take around 6 - 8 weeks. It is more complicated if there is property involved or substantial savings - I have forgotten what the threshold is. A lawyer may be neeeded if there are complications. DL

Edited to add that when the death is Registered (requiring Death Certificate from Doctor) then you can ask then at The Registery Office for advice and booklet. They can also give you Probate Office telephone number.

Last edited by David Lock; 01 July 2004 at 11:56 AM.
Old 01 July 2004, 12:10 PM