Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Colour Blind & Work Problems

Search this Thread

Old 18 October 2002, 01:40 PM
Gixer
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I work in a job I love, but recently failed some colour blindness tests (Isihara, Lantern, City & London, etc) and have been removed from some duties involved in my job, one of which is driving. The same duties that I have been doing for the last three years without anyone having any complaint about what i do and how i do it. I have appealed to be re-instated, but this may take a few more weeks to be heard.

I am after information from anyone who has been/is in a similar situation. Did they get re-instated or not, and on what grounds? I beleive that CB is not viewed as a disability, but is seen as "sexual discrimination". I know that there are some jobs that will not allow recruit those with this "problem", but this is not a recruitment issue, as I have been accepted into the job.

Thanks again for any help/assistance anyone can give.

Old 18 October 2002, 01:43 PM
super_si
Scooby Regular

Try expanding a bit.

Whats you job.

Im colour blind and i cant see why your not allowed to drive.

Depends on alot such as the type ,how bad.

Si
Old 18 October 2002, 01:44 PM
WebReaper
Scooby Newbie

Wink

Chelle's almost completely blind, and she's not banned from driving, so I think they're being a bit harsh.
Old 18 October 2002, 01:46 PM
mik
Scooby Regular

Angry

Eh? [img]images/smilies/mad.gif[/img]

Unless you "drive" a Tornado or Harrier that makes no sense at all!

Old 18 October 2002, 01:54 PM
beemerboy
Scooby Regular

Now, bomb disposal, that's different.

i think its a bit harsh the way you've been treated.
i have a colour blind programmer here (god, you should see his desktop colours!!! YUK!!!)but he's great at his job!!

good luck

BB
Old 18 October 2002, 01:54 PM
Mice_Elf
Scooby Regular