Old 16 October 2016, 07:07 PM
hodgy0_2
Scooby Regular

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by JTaylor
Without clicking on the link I know it is the new Adam Curtis film

I was going to post it actually

I find his work brilliant tbh

I am somewhat both surprised and interested you obviously have a interest in his work too

Have you seen his early stuff?

Last edited by hodgy0_2; 16 October 2016 at 07:10 PM.
Old 16 October 2016, 07:33 PM
RAGGY DOO
Scooby Regular

Received 108 Likes on 72 Posts

No
Old 16 October 2016, 07:33 PM
JTaylor
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I adore Adam Curtis's work! I've watched virtually all of it, but was turned on to him whilst I studied politics with sociology in my mid-twenties which was about the same time that The Century of the Self was aired. Curtis and I share an admiration of Max Weber and we're also both of a libertarian persuasion with some sympathies with the left and conversely with elements of neoconservativism.
Old 16 October 2016, 07:48 PM
hodgy0_2
Scooby Regular

I adore Adam Curtis's work! I've watched virtually all of it, but was turned on to him whilst I studied politics with sociology in my mid-twenties which was about the same time that The Century of the Self was aired. Curtis and I share an admiration of Max Weber and we're also both of a libertarian persuasion with some sympathies with the left and conversely with elements of neoconservativism.
It is a pet peeve of mine that that the term "libertarian" has been appropriated by the right wing bat **** loony brigade

The obvious inference is that if you are not part of the right wing neoconspiritard - then you are anti libertarian and pro "control"

When in fact theses loons have serious authoritarian undertones

I consider myself a libertarian - but my political philosophy is 180 degrees different

I also don't see much neoconservatism in his work I have to say
Old 16 October 2016, 08:16 PM
JTaylor
Scooby Regular