Notices

subaru impreza 2.0 turbo, water level keeps going low, doesnt overheat, no leaks?

Search this Thread

Old 17 June 2010, 05:22 PM
jeff121
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation subaru impreza 2.0 turbo, water level keeps going low, doesnt overheat, no leaks?

hi guys i have a 1999 2.0 turbo uk spec, the problem im having with the car is that the water level keeps going low. i startd the car today let it warm up, it warms up pretty quickly but never overheats, the water starts coming out of the water filler hole, the top radiator hose is warm however the bottom isnt? what could it be seems like its a thermostat or water pump to me. but ive also noticed that there is allot of dirty water in the radiator its all rusty and orange. im not very technical with the imprezas as its the first ive had, the cars awesome but the water level issue doesnt quite seem right, it just pours it out. could anybody give me any advice please before i end up frying the engine.

any help is greatly appreciated guys.

thanks
Old 17 June 2010, 05:51 PM
Butty
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Water filler hole? Is that in a plastic tank to side of radiator? That's just the expansion tank.
Are you filling the metal tank with rad cap on it?

if its not due to filling the wrong point then I'd go for a HG.
Old 17 June 2010, 06:03 PM
JulioJordio2
Scooby Regular

Without trying to scare you mate, those were the symptoms I had when my head gasket began failing.

You mentioned water loss, where from exactly?

If its coming from the expansion tank by the battery on the right hand side, that could point to HG.

Water pumps are noisy when they begin failing. Have you heard any whining noises?